Summer Reading 2012

Summer does not officially begin until  June 20th, but today welcomed the end of spring classes as I begin digging through an aggregation of books. My summer reading list, which originally consisted of 50 or so titles, expanded to into a larger pile of 74. Residing in that list of 74 are books upon books I am far too eager to start, such as The Alchemyst, The Hunch Back of Notre-Dame, and Un Lun Dun (to name a few). This week, however, I’m looking forward to three in particular:

  1. Sea of Shadow by Fuyumi Ono
    Praise by BookLoons.com: “An exciting, fast-paced adventure that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.”

    I hope so! At 459 pages, who knows if I can finish this by next Sunday, but it’s a story I have waited to read. In the first book of  The Twelve Kingdoms saga, Yoko Nakajima is thrust out of her ordinary life and into a magical realm known as The Twelve Kingdoms. The set-up and environment of these kingdoms, I have read, reflect Chinese mythology — something I almost always find provides wonderfully engaging settings to get lost in.

  2. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
    It is likely I never noticed just how frequently Dorian Gray references are woven into pop culture, but I feel the almighty mystical forces of the universe trying to transmit a message. Dorian Gray, Dorian Gray: oh, narcissism! (“How sad it is! I shall grow old and horrible and dreadful.”) Point of message: either I am incredibly vain or I need to read Wilde’s novel. Well, I hope it’s the latter.

    More and more, Dorian Gray is popping up in my life. In this week alone, I encountered near a dozen (or more) incidental mentions: from book reviews, TV shows, and everyday conversations.  Okay Universe, I hear you.

  3. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
    Even before its official release this month, high ratings have nested Shadow and Bone in a rainstorm of praise. I couldn’t feel more excited to pick up Bardugo’s book tomorrow, and I intend to read it the instant I get home. Oh, if only a leash can help lower my expectations. I’ve allowed the hype to seep in, slowly raising standards, and I’m afraid disappointment will override the excitement. Hopefully that will not be the case.
Happy reading, everyone. Enjoy your weekend!
x
12 thoughts on “Summer Reading 2012

    • Definitely!

      Do you have a copy yet? I just picked it up today — so excited to start reading it! I borrowed it from the library, but I have a feeling I’ll buy it, too, especially since it’s part of a series.

      • Nooo! I didn’t even realize that it’s out already. I might have to get a copy from the library. But I’m not sure if they’re going to let me take it out. When I asked for a copy of Cinder I was told that I can’t borrow it lol which doesn’t make sense because the whole point of a library is borrowing books.

      • Did they tell you why not?

        The library over here will sometimes stick the only copy of a book on display and won’t allow anyone to check it out, which is silly. Why display a book if there’s only one copy to read?! One Flew over the Cuckoo’s nest was only available to loan out to schools for a short while, too.

    • I told ya I was in finals week, goof! Ahhh, everyone seems to have been let out in May except those in western WA. But fall quarter starts a little later here, too.

    • They told me that it was too new to be loaned out. I just checked if Shadow & Bone is available at the library and all five copies have holds on them. So I probably won’t get the book out till the end of summer. I didn’t finish reading One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s nest. It was the last book we were supposed to read for Grade 12 Lit, but I never read past the first chapter.

      • Ha ha, I never made it past chapter one either. Although I got distracted by schoolwork and other books, and then the due date crept up on me before I could hit “renew.” I like to think I’ll get to read it at some point, though.

      • For Shadow & Bone, you should see if there’s a large print version. It’ll be a bit weird, but people forget about those. I was number 8 on the list of large print for Hunger Games last summer instead of 98 or something crazy like that for the regular print.

Leave your thoughts

