WWW Wednesdays #1

Hey there, everyone. I decided to join in on the weekly book meme fun, and today is WWW Wednesdays! WWW Wednesdays is a weekly book meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. Anyone can participate — just answer the questions!

What are you currently reading?
At last: I am finally acquainting each page of Michael Scott’s The Alchemyst. Only a 103 pages are read, but it’s light reading, and yet… No matter how quickly I plow through The Alchemyst, I find that I can easily put it down and not feel a pull to pick it back up. Curiosity about its end is sadly absent and I’m unattached to all characters.

Scott’s writing style and I are butting heads at every paragraph, which disappoints me. My expectations were possibly high, having just read Bardugo’s novel (stronger writing) and being a massive Harry Potter fan (Childhood nostalgia! Excitement! Eeee! Also: stronger writing and more developed). I hoped to enter a world of fantasy prowess created by imaginative writing. It’s fair to say that Scott’s writing presents imaginative ideas, but I find that presentation weak. Regardless, I will finish Scott’s book and continue with the rest of the series.

What did you recently finish reading?
I finished Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo yesterday and zipped through it in three days! I was concerned that the hype surrounding Bardugo’s debut novel would allow my expectations to rise too high and set me up to feel let down. I’m pleased to say that nothing of the sort happened. I enjoyed every minute I read this book, and once I started I didn’t want to stop.

I like to think I find a great book when I can’t walk away from the story. I become so engrossed in the plot, or attached to the characters, that turning pages is both an exhilarating and bitter event. Each time I meet a new page means the end grows nearer. This can be any book, of course. For some people, a book like this is the often made-fun-of Twilight, or maybe a classic like Frankenstein. As long as that book somehow connects to you, that’s all that matters.

There are people who feel upset by Bardugo’s lack of Russian research, and others dislike Alina’s character or the writing — all understandable reasons. I, faintly knowledgeable on Russian language and culture, didn’t take notice, and I found little defects in the writing. I tried pacing Shadow & Bone to last at least a week, but temptation got the best of me and I caved: late nights and neglected responsibilities followed. Yes, it’s that addicting. I’m even tempted to re-read the book again… and again. By the end of today I hope to have a review written — watch out for it!

What do you think you’ll read next?
In my last post, The Picture of Dorian Gray was the book listed as my next read after Shadow & Bone. Instead, I’m reading The Alchemyst and naming Terry Pratchett’s Equal Rites as the follow-up. The disruption library due dates cause…

8 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays #1

  1. You’re not alone about the Alchemyst. I tried reading it and just never could connect to the book. It’s a bit of a bummer because I normally like those types of books!
    Hope you enjoy the rest of your books!

  2. The Alchemyst is a book whose cover I admired in-store but whose content never hooked me. And by content I mean the first five words before I stuffed the book back on the shelf.

    That might be why I never finish books these days. Or begin them.

    I’ll look out for Shadow and Bone.

    • When was the last time you finished a book?

      I predict a movie deal in Shadow & Bone’s future — no one better mess it up.

      Also: Anna Karenina film trailer. I’d read the book now if it weren’t so long.

      • STILL WORKING ON THIS WORDPRESS REPLY SYSTEM. dude, it’s been a while. I even got halfway through one of my comfort books and put it back on the shelf a few days ago.

        I might rewatch les mis’ film trailer ಠ‿ಠ –the book rests on my shelf, having languished now for at least two years.

      • Discovered your notifications page, I take it? It took me over two months of consistent WP usage to find it, and then even longer to realize the Reader’s purpose — a Tumblr dash, basically.

        Speaking of Les Misérables and, by default, Victor Hugo: ever tried reading The Hunchback? I hate my copy, and I have no idea where it crawled out from. I resorted to requesting a different translation through the library.

      • A dashboard multiplied by confusion.

        I spoilered myself on WIkipedia after a brief obsession with the Disney movie and a lasting adoration for the Notre Dame de Paris musical, but I haven’t opened the original yet. That ugly or is the translation that bad, ha ha?

Leave your thoughts

