Library Loot #1

  • Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.

Every few weeks I “raid” the library, allowing requests to pile before I pick them up en masse. I used to limit these check-outs to five or eight books, but oh — not anymore. I can’t. My town’s library underwent a recent upgrade via BiblioCommons, and per the Library’s words: the “online catalog got a facelift.” This change delivered improvement, and as such, it has become easier to spy new and interesting available books. When I spot a potentially good book it’s very difficult not to click “place hold,” and my requests grow and grow… Now I leave the library holding up to ten or fifteen books.

Because I invade the quiet bliss of libraries with such regularity, I’m happy I discovered this meme yesterday through Savindi’s blog. Today’s library visit gave me four books, which is nowhere near the typical amount, but I expect Library Loot will become the most-abused meme on my blog. I have three pages of requests, and another five are in transit…

Babe in Boyland by Jody Gehrman:
I feel an assemblage of judgment in the air. Stop judging me. Yes, it’s chick lit, and I don’t think this will end well given past experiences. Even if I didn’t admit this, I can’t tell you what, exactly, I found so captivating that I requested it.

Just as the summary sounds, comments indicate that Gehrman’s Babe in Boyland is like a copycat of She’s the Man with Amanda Bynes. (Because cross-dressing is original? Is the 1985 film Just One of the Guys forgotten? What about Disney’s Motocrossed and a Canadian/USA film I’ve never heard of? I’m disregarding the fact that these are all movies.)

Whether Babe in Boyland is ridiculous or not (I expect it is), sometimes my brain needs a ridiculous vacation from other genres and chick lit satisfies the need. So. Stop judging me.

Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta:
Somewhere in the bottom of my brain is a little note. It says, Please remember to read Finnicken of the Rock this summer. Even if I had a nifty gadget, such as a remembrall, I would still end up like Neville at the end of the day: “I can’t remember what I’ve forgotten!” I jam too many things inside my head for later recall that I simply can’t retain it all. I can hardly remember everything on a to-do list when it’s written, let alone go off of memory, and I didn’t want to forget this book.

Marchetta’s novel is high in both fantasy and ratings (or so I hear), and it’s only one of many I wanted to read (this summer). Now that I have it, the only challenge left is sorting it out among all the other books I have to read.

The Sound of Colors by Jimmy Liao:
I stumbled across the film trailer for Starry Starry Night and searched for Liao’s book of the same name. My search came up empty: no library, no bookstore, and not even Google seem able to offer an English edition. (Amazon did link me to the Spanish version, but Spanish is not English.) It was even a tad tricky finding Liao in the first place since he’s shelved as “Jimmi” in the catalog.

In any case, Liao tickled my intrigue and curiosity is mounting. I can’t get my hands on Starry Starry Night, but Liao does have other published books — and in English, like this one.

The Arrival by Shaun Tan:
The library categorizes it under teen graphic novels, but it looks as though almost anyone can enjoy Tan’s The Arrival. Composed entirely of pictures, The Arrival depicts an immigrant’s tale: a man departs from his wife and child, leaving them and his home behind, to enter a strange land and build a better future. It would be a lie if I said the cover didn’t catch my eye, because it’s what convinced me to check The Arrival out. If the inside is anything like the cover, I thought, this will be one beautiful story.

I did take the pleasure of skimming the pages earlier, taking in all the dazzling detail. The cover is only a small taste of what you find inside, I promise. In distinct style, wonderful artwork glosses every page where pictures speak for themselves.

2 thoughts on “Library Loot #1

  1. Oh, Bibliocommons…My library underwent the upgrade last year and it was wonderful at first but there have been a lot of minor but annoying tech issues since. Still, it looks marvellous and works most of the time, hopefully soon to be all of the time! But it’s wonderful to hear that it is encouraging you to find and request more books! I have heard wonderful things about The Arrival and your other titles are all new to me. Enjoy your loot!

    • I wish the search bar wasn’t covered each time I place a hold or shelve a book, but I’ve really enjoyed the BiblioCommons upgrade otherwise — it’s so much easier to navigate!

      Finished The Arrival last night, and I find it very enchanting. (I believe I have a new favorite book.)

      Thanks for dropping by!

Leave your thoughts

