Seraphina is out!

Hello on a Tuesday (July 10th, and so many book releases today!) — I hope everyone’s week is going well.

I hear a mighty fine book strutting around, and it just got its glamor shelved for reading. Unless you live in the future or were one of those lucky readers who grabbed an early copy, Rachel Hartman’s Seraphina is officially out. In case you somehow missed the pre-release hype and you’re wondering What is a Seraphina? then check out the book trailer:

Just when you thought there was nothing new to say about dragons, it turns out there is, and plenty! Rachel Hartman’s rich invention never fails to impress — and to convince. It’s smart and funny and original, and has characters I will follow to the ends of the earth.
Ellen Kushner

You can also watch Rachel Hartman read a one-minute excerpt or read part of it here (Hartman’s out-loud reading can do with a little more pause, I think).

I’ve been told Seraphina has the power to spike your day with a little more cheer, so: if your week has been more nasty, rotten, and sleep-depriving than my upstairs neighbor, I can’t say I’ve ever seen a good book inflate a bad mood.

Cheers and happy reading!
x

12 thoughts on “Seraphina is out!

    • Isn’t it? I’m usually doubtful when it comes to most book trailers, but I’m extra excited to read Seraphina now. I requested it through the library early enough, so I’ll be the first one to read it there — picking it up this week!

      • Nice! I just finished Stardust and I’ll be doing a review for it. I’m reading “Reading Lolita In Tehran” and I’m liking it so far. Hopefully I can read it before July 18th because it’s due then.

        I hope you enjoy Seraphina! Let me know how you like it.

      • Here’s to hoping! I challenged myself to read Stardust by the end of August… I don’t know, I think I’ll try it but if I start experiencing the same issues I’ll probably swap it with something else.

  1. I’ve clearly fallen off the book reading wagon (what do you mean I wasn’t on it before? I was just always at the back!) because I had no idea book trailers even existed. *shameface* But putting that aside, looks like I’ve got to get on this because I love books of this genre.

    • Ha, you can shed some of that shameface, because I myself wasn’t aware they existed until halfway through last year. I like watching them, but I think some can over-dramatize a book sometimes. The Spooky Little Girl trailer by Laurie Notaro is a fun one, though.

      It’s been a long, long while since I’ve read anything high fantasy that I could absorb myself into, so I’m look forward to Seraphina.

    • Oh, good! I hope you enjoy it. (: I couldn’t wait to read it myself, and I’m not disappointed! Hartman, I can tell, put much thought in building this fantasy world.

Leave your thoughts

