Top Ten Tuesday #11

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Click here to read more and join!

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Click here to read more and join!

This Top Ten Tuesday prompt is a fun one, I think: favorite covers of books I’ve read*, also known as covergasms. It’s preferable if a story proves as wondrous as its cover art, but even if I loathe a book, you can find me drooling over its eye-candy front. Here are a mere ten books (with extra notable mentions) whose fancy covers caught my eye:

Can a person ever go wrong when it comes to a Barnes & Noble cover? I love their paperbacks, even. My Grimms’ Fairy Tales copy is part of B&N’s leatherbound collection, gifted by an old friend, and I’ve never stopped adoring the cover. My one complaint is that the page edges are frosted in a sparkling gold, which–as I learned the sad way–easily brushes off.

The cover to Connolly’s The Book of Lost Things, although without golden pages, reminds me of a few B&N hardbacks: it’s simple but elegant-looking. Seraphina is all-around love, however, as I equally adore Hartman’s writing as I do the cover. The sepia provides a medieval appearance with a flavor of fantastic (dragons!). It does have a few rusty smudges, which is part of the artwork — though I have a terrible urge to wipe them off!

Mr. Fox

4. Mr. Fox by Helen Oyeyemi

I read the edition on the left-hand side, although I fancy both covers. The cover on the right is very Old Hollywood-esque, by my favorite, however, is from the copy I read. I remember spotting it in the library and deciding to grab it on whim after reading the jacket blurb. Although Oyeyemi presents a rather confusing storyline, I enjoyed each tale, which I think the cover represents well.

books 5 - 6 TTT

5. Dr. Bird’s Advice for Sad Poets by Evan Roskos
6. How to Say Goodbye in Robot by Natalie Standiford

These two books are triple-threats: simple cover designs that scream awesome, quirky titles, and great writing. While I’m attracted to the covers to both of these books, it’s the titles that I gravitated toward. The titles are entirely their own, possessing a unique quality shared by the stories that are bound between the covers. I don’t have the words for the cover of How to Say Goodbye in Robot other than “covergasmic love” and “I’m sure more boys would read this if the cover wasn’t pink!” Rosko’s cover, on the other hand, feels fresh. Considering that I find the story quite different from others like it, I think the cover suits the story.

The Rabbits

7. The Rabbits by John Marsden & Shaun Tan

I am a huge fan of Shaun Tan’s art in general, but The Rabbits–among a couple of other Shaun Tan books–is what I consider one of his best works. As art and text combine to communicate a powerful message, The Rabbits tells an allegoric tale about colonization. The cover does a wonderful job in revealing the story’s tense atmosphere, and–of course–it’s another showcase of Shaun Tan’s genius.

Jelly Roll

8. Jelly Roll: A Blues by Kevin Young

Jelly Roll: A Blues has remained near the top of my “books with awesome covers” list since I first discovered it in 2011. The faded wash and phonograph offer a subtle quiet, but there is also a jaunty, fun-hearted feeling that jumps at the reader. It’s a modernized old soul, very “blues-y,” equipped with inventive language that knows how to lament and praise. With a complementary color scheme to boot, I don’t think you can ask for a better cover.

books 9 - 10 TTT

9. The End of the Alphabet by C.S. Richardson
10. The Merchant & the Alchemist’s Gate by Ted Chiang

The End of the Alphabet and The Merchant & the Alchemist’s Gate both have a Saharan or Middle Eastern feel to their covers, which initially attracted me. Covers that flaunt their fancy designs without superfluous detail will always win my adoration, but I appreciate artwork that feels more simple yet has a mighty voice. The End of the Alphabet is eye-pleasing, although the story didn’t take me where I had hoped it would based on the cover. Chiang’s novella, however, brought me everywhere I’d hoped and then some — something that I feel the cover does well in preparing prospective readers for.

>>Notable Mentions:

TTT nb 1

TTT nb 2

*My list would be endless if I could include books sitting on my TBR list!

What are some of your favorite book covers? Comment below or link me to your TTT post — I’d love to know!

42 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #11

    • It’s a dazzling piece of eye-candy, that’s for sure. Too bad I read from the library’s copy, because I’d love to have that cover on my shelf!

      Thanks for dropping by (:

    • I do, too. The Mr. Fox cover is what had me shooting across the room just for a look at it. The Lover’s Dictionary has a fresh contemporary feel to it that tends to pop out and be noticed, which I like.

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting!

    • I love buying B&N classics, especially for their covers. The designs looks fantastic for hardbacks, and there’s something special about their paperbacks, too. Seraphina is great, and that goes for both the cover and Hartman’s writing. (:

      Thanks for stopping by!

    • Caffeine and books make a great combo, especially when you’re trying to stay up just a bit longer to read another chapter… and another, and another… ;)

      Thanks for the comment and follow! I followed you back as well.

  1. The Book of Lost Things has a great cover! I love the colour combinations and the illustrations. Ahaha I knew that Seraphina and Shadow & Bone would make your list ;). I really like the cover of both of them. I think I like Seraphina a bit more because the picture is really beautiful. The cover for Mr. Fox is quite awesome as well :D.

      • I hadn’t seen the new cover until you mentioned it, but I think I prefer the original too. I like the colour combinations more. What do you think about the new Anna and The French Kiss cover?

      • I know some people were upset about the new Anna covers, since the originals won’t match up to Stephanie Perkins’ Isla & the Happily Ever After, but I actually like the new covers. In comparison to the originals, I mean. The others weren’t covers I’d like to walk around in public with, ha ha. But the new cover feels a bit more mature.

      • That’s what a lot of people have said about the new covers; that they do feel mature. I love the typography on them :). I’m so tempted to read Isla and the Happily Ever After, even though I probably won’t- just for the cover lol.

      • Ha ha! I’ll definitively be reading Isla, though it makes me nervous. I read the first two companion novels, so I’d like to finish off the whole set with Isla, though I really couldn’t stand Lola. Anna was okay in Anna & the French Kiss, but she appears in Lola & the Boy Next Door, and it was just annoying (as was Lola). …I’m worried Anna and Lola will show up in Isla!

      • I remember you saying that you didn’t like Lola. She seemed really annoying lol. And I remember some people writing about her as a character and some of the things she says and Anna’s appearance as well. I’m guessing Isla was introduced at the end of Lola?

      • I couldn’t find a relatable quality about her, and I didn’t like how she’d let her creepy boyfriend walk over her best friend. That, and she was always wearing new wigs and outfits/costumes every day.

        Isla wasn’t mentioned at all, so I have no idea what to expect. I read the GR summary, though, and it sounds better than Lola–possibly Anna, too.

        Although I’m sad. It says, “Their romantic journey is skillfully intertwined with those of beloved couples Anna and Étienne and Lola and Cricket, whose paths are destined to collide in a sweeping finale certain to please fans old and new.”

        I guess that means both Anna and Lola show up? Yikes.

      • Ohhh those are the worst. Love truly is blind,literally sometimes lol. It actually does sound better than Anna and the French Kiss and Lola. Hopefully both couples won’t have that much of a presence in the book :).

  2. I think just the cover of Seraphina would make me want to read the book although knowing your immense love for it helps propel it into an even more favorable light. The Lover’s Dictionary is definitely one of my favorites as well. I recently found a version of Pride and Prejudice that had cover art I really liked and given that the first one I’d bought (for required class reading) had a horrendous cover, I just had to get it. I find that if the covers of books are bad, it almost seems to detract from the otherwise awesomeness of a good book. Sad, superficial, but totally true for me.

      • Oh boy….. totally agree with you on the UK cover. I’m never a fan of having a realistic rendering of a character on the cover since it just feels so cheesy and like one of those trashy romance novels.

    • Mr. Fox has a couple of flattering covers attached to it. I hope you enjoy the book! The storyline is quite confusing, but I liked the various stories regardless.

  3. I love the cover for Grimm’s Complete Fairy Tales. It’s soooo pretty, but a little creepy too, which is perfect.

    And I almots included Wonder, but ended up not. But I love that cover. It’s perfect for the book.

  4. Seraphina was nearly included on my list, but was cut in favor of others. I loved the sepia-tone on it. I love your list because it includes some titles I haven’t seen on other lists yet. Thanks for sharing!

    My TTT

    • Seraphina might be my favorite among those I posted, although I’m also biased since I adore the book so much over-all. Thanks for commenting!

  5. I really like a lot of these covers. The two for Mr. Fox are just… gah. I really like Jelly Roll’s cover as well. And The End of the Alphabet. I reeeally dig that one, actually. You’re quite good at choosing covers. Haha.

    • I think you’re the only one to mention Jelly Roll! It’s way up high on list of favorite covers. It has such a fun, innovative feel to it, too, which fits the text so well.

  6. I love the Grimm’s Complete Fairy Tales, The Book of Lost Things, and the Seraphina covers. They are awesome. I really liked your other picks too.

    • I love Shaun Tan’s art, and I heard he’s planning on a new book to come out soon? I hope so, anyway, because I’d love to see more from him.

Leave your thoughts

