Waiting on Wednesday #1

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases bloggers are eagerly anticipating.

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, which spotlights upcoming releases that bloggers are eagerly anticipating.

The Ghost BrideThe Ghost Bride by Yangsze Choo
Release date: August 6th, 2013

The Ghost Bride

Goodreads summary:

Seventeen-year-old Li Lan lives in 1890s Malaya with her quietly-ruined father, who returns one evening with a proposition – the fabulously wealthy Lim family want Li Lan to marry their son. The only problem is, he’s dead. After a fateful visit to the Lim mansion, Li Lan finds herself haunted not only by her ghostly would-be suitor, but also her desire for the Lims’ handsome new heir. At night she is drawn into the Chinese afterlife — a world of ghost cities, paper funeral offerings, monstrous bureaucracy and vengeful spirits. Enlisting the help of mysterious Er Lang (a dragon turned clerk) Li Lan must uncover the secrets of the ghost world — before she becomes trapped there forever.

Drawing on traditional Malayan folklore and superstition, THE GHOST BRIDE is a haunting, exotic and romantic read perfect for fans of EMPRESS ORCHID and MEMOIRS OF A GEISHA.

| B&N • Author Website |

As it stands, this is the one book I harbor the most anticipation for — as far as summer book releases go. It seems I’m naturally drawn to anything regarding Asian folklore, and especially to plots that deal with the afterlife. While I don’t think I’ve encountered too many books that handle similar topics, let me tell you: I’ve certainly watched enough TV shows and movies. In the least, I can’t say I’ve seen too many good ‘afterlife films,’ but most are different in their own rights, and Choo’s book sounds irresistible to me. (I’m particularly looking forward to meeting Er Lang!)

What are you waiting on?

8 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday #1

  1. I think I once watched an episode of Bones that dealt with this storyline. I think think this would be too bone chilling for me… :-(

  2. I was able to snag a couple of books I was waiting on when they were released yesterday. One was the third novel in the Expanse series by the writing team known as James S.A. Corey, Abaddon’s Gate, and the other was Stephen King’s new novel, Joyland. I haven’t read King in over a decade, and have read a great review of this one, so I’m really looking forward to it.

    • I actually wasn’t aware that Stephen King had written anything new since 11/26/63. My mom is a huge King fan, although she hasn’t read any of his books in years. I’m sad to say that I’ve only watched adaptions of his work, and I’ve never read one of his books! Hopefully that will change, as I’ve had my eye on a few of his titles for a while.

  3. I actually follow her blog on WP! Definitely looking forward to what I hope will be a really interesting book. It’s always fun for me to see how writers put a new spin on folklore/myths in fiction and being from a similar Asian background, I’m excited to see how the story works out.

    • I just started following her! Her posts are great and amusing. Ahh, me too — I love it when writers pull new and unique twists in old stories, so I look forward to seeing what Yangsze Choo brings with The Ghost Bride. I even pre-ordered her book today, kind of like an early gift to myself for making it through another stressful academic year. (…Or more like an excuse to buy another book under the guise of “I made it!”)

Leave your thoughts

