Top Ten Tuesday #12

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly meme hosted by  The Broke and the Bookish. Click  here to read more and join!

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Click here to read more and join!

This week’s TTT is: 10 books at the top of my Summer TBR list, and frankly, it’s a bit impossible for me to give anyone a straight answer. I have more books I want to read than books that are coming out this summer, and I often choose what I read on whim — I’m more of a mood-reader than anything else. This list is mostly comprised of older books with just a few ones set to release in these upcoming months. I look forward to all, however! Several weeks ago I wanted nothing but light chick-lit before moving on to “gritty” contemporaries, and now all I care about are fantasy and steampunk titles. I guarantee that this list will change–just give me another week or two and I’ll find a different genre to obsess over.

*

Wildwood Dancing

1. Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier
Marillier’s Wildwood Dancing was recently recommended to me, and I’ve wanted to read it ever since. Caught in a web of ARCs and other books to review, though, I am grudgingly holding off. In the mean time, I steal as many glances as I can at its beautiful cover and enticing summmary.

*

Airman

2. Airman by Eoin Colfer
This is one book I recently stumbled across on my own, and its steampunk aspect is only half of the appeal. When Conor, the main character, attempts to intervene in a conspiracy against the king, he is branded a traitor and locked away. The only hope to escape imprisonment and off the island lies in flight, and Conor must put his designs in luck’s hands as he tests his designs. The Artemis Fowl series never grabbed my interest, but Airman certainly has my intrigue.

*

Crown Duel

3. Crown Duel (Omnibus) by Sherwood Smith
I first discovered Crown Duel on one of my many book-hunts on Goodreads, and I fell for the summary. Not only that, but as a devout fan of Rachel Hartman’s Seraphina (watch out, because I will push and push this book on you, and then I will push some more even after you’ve read it), this book has come recommended to me by other readers of Seraphina. I attempted Crown Duel once before, but I was sidetracked into sitting it down. Hopefully that will no be the case the second time around.

*

Image courtesy of Scholastic Canada

Image courtesy of Scholastic Canada

4. ANYTHING and EVERYTHING by Tamora Pierce
No one will gasp in horror and shock anymore. I will read Tamora Pierce. I will. I’m due to pick up her Song of the Lioness series at the library, even–and yes, that is the entire series I’m picking up.

*

The Ghost Bride

5. The Ghost Bride by Yangsze Choo
I am particularly excited to read Yangsze Choo’s book, and for reasons that I can’t pin-point. Plots that handle the afterlife and incorporate folklore or fairy tales, and introduce creatures that spook you in the night–spirits, demons, and even dragons–are irresistible to me. Choo’s novel is not a purely unique story, as you can find several like it, but I’m curious to see Choo’s own twist on this tale.

*

Hundred Thousand Kingdoms

6. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin
The less I know about this series the more I will enjoy it–that’s what I gather from Jemisin’s trilogy. Sometimes, when I let the criticism and insight of other readers sink in, I feel like my curiosity and interest becomes clouded. From what I do know, The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms sounds wonderfully different and fresh, and I look forward to getting lost in its pages.

*

The Bone Season

7. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon
For someone who’s been dubbed “the next J.K. Rowling,” I think Shannon’s The Bone Season has pressure bearing down on it. Although why Samantha Shannon and her work have been compared to Rowling, I can’t say, because the only similarity between these two writers seems to be a seven-part series. Some hype is rumbling, however, and I’m catching it. You can say I’m eager to read The Bone Season for myself, but the excitement bubbling in parts of the book blogging community hasn’t prevented my skepticism. I’m excited all right, but wary, although I do hope to enjoy Shannon’s book when it’s released.

*

A Darkness Strange & Lovely

8. A Darkness Strange & Lovely by Susan Dennard
Us SS&D readers are still waiting on this! And I want it this instant. A Darkness Strange & Lovely is the sequel to Susan Dennard’s Something Strange & Deadly, and while it took several months for the first book to grow on me after completing it, I am eager to see where Eleanor Fitt’s journey to Paris takes her. (I will not deny that I am also hoping for a spectacular steampunk gadget-hand! Those who read the first book know what I’m talking about. Cue for all-knowing wink: wink.)

*

Image courtesy of Brain Foggles

Image courtesy of Brain Foggles

9. Harry Potter Books # 2 – 4 by J.K. Rowling (re-reads)
I finally went through on my promise to at least re-start Harry Potter when I read and reviewed the first book. Back when Harry Potter & the Deathly Hollows was first released, I made it through about half of the book. A friend spoiled me silly, school started, and horror of horrors: I couldn’t recall what a horcrux was. I didn’t think it was possible for to forget something so vital, but it is. In an effort to reach and finish the last book, I’m venturing through all the HP books again. Because I want to read hoards of books, I hope to read up to the fourth book this summer.

*

The Orphanage of Miracles

10. The Orphanage of Miracles by Amy Neftzger
I won a free copy of Neftzger’s book through LibraryThing’s Early Reviewers’ May giveaway batch, and I was delighted to open my mailbox this week to find it. I was hoping The Orphanage of Miracles would arrive while I’m still on a fantasy-high, and it did — I can’t wait to start reading this!

>>Notable Mentions:

Which books do you want to read this summer?

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #12

  1. Crown Duel really is great for Grave Mercy/Seraphina fans – so I hope you end up enjoying it! I really love the duology.

    The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms definitely is different – in a good way! Super fascinating world building.

    • I hope I enjoy it too! I also have Grave Mercy on my to-read list, so maybe I should try to fit that in this summer as well. I think The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms sounds super-interesting, and the cover is very alluring!

    • Airman is one of my must-reads (: The story sounds fantastic, and I read that a movie adaption is either in the works or it is already being made — which only makes me more eager to read the book!

    • Have you read Something Strange & Deadly? I gave the book a re-read this year, and while I wasn’t loving it the first time around, I found that I enjoyed it more on the second go. I’m excited for the sequel (:

  2. I didn’t much like Artemis, but I love Airman! Reviewed it recently because it’s one of my favourite steampunk YA reads.I want the Bone Season! The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms and The Ghost Bride sound like my sort of books too…love your taste in novels.

    • I’m so eager to read Airman that I’m cursing the ARCs I have! It’s one book I hope to read this summer, so I’m making it a goal — everyone tells me it’s a great book (and it sounds wonderful). The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, as well! I think that trilogy sounds particularly interesting, so I’d love to read it.

      Thanks! (: If you like my taste in books, I’m betting I’ll love yours.

  3. I have a friend who is a massive Tamora Pierce fan, so I’m hoping you like her books too! The cover for The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is beautiful!! It’s got a very King Arthur legend like feel to it, which I love. I adored Artemis Fowl, but I haven’t read anything else by Colfer. I hope you enjoy Airman Raya! I only heard about The Bone Season recently, although I’m not sure I’ll pick it up, I hope you enjoy it. Oh and can I gush about the cover of The Orphanage of Miracles? It’s so beautiful!

    • I just picked up the Song of the Lioness series today, and I’m so excited to start it! I haven’t peeked at the pages yet, but the books aren’t particularly thick, so I have a feeling that I’ll speed through them quickly. I know — The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms cover is eye candy! I didn’t notice the face blended in the background behind the castle at first, either… I think it only adds to the art.

      Airman sounds amazing! I also read there might be a film adaption in the works (if there isn’t one already). Ooh, and about The Orphanage of Miracles cover — it’s soft! Smooth and soft, and I have a difficult time prying my hands away. Ha ha. The publisher sent me a hardback, which is really nice, because I expected paperback.

  4. That’s like the sixth time I’ve seen The Bone Season on a list. Everyone’s raving about it, so I really hope it lives up to people’s expectations. Looks like I’ll need to read it too!

    • I have my suspicions about The Bone Season, but I sincerely hope to like it. I know a lot of readers have been waiting on it, like me, for a while now!

    • I think summer is one of the best times to read HP, at least for me. The stress level is usually way down than in any other season, and it’s great being able to read one of my childhood favorites and soak in the extra free time.

  5. Ooh, I really want to read A Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, as well! I’ve had a few people recommend it to me and I think it sounds really good. I’m also excited for The Bone Season, but a little wary of all the hype that’s surrounding it… Still looking forward to reading it though.

    My Top Ten

    • I just recently heard of Jemisin’s book, and if the cover isn’t enough to get me excited, the summary sure is. I’m the same in regards to The Bone Season — at least my skepticism will keep my expectations from going sky-high, because that nearly always leads to disappointment.

  6. I’m also a huge mood reader. What sounds good to me could change completely tomorrow. And Wildwood Dancing is on my list, too. I love fairytale retellings, and I’ve heard great things about that book.

    Oooo, and seriously HP is the best ever!! I can’t recommend that series enough.

    • I think the worst kind of mood for a mood reader is an indecisive mood — I hate wanting to read ALL THE BOOKS of any and all genres but not stick with just one book!

      I love HP (: It pretty much defines my childhood, so it’s a blast going back to re-visit.

  7. I read Wildwood Dancing and really liked it! I don’t recommend it enough, but HP is something I recommend a lot! I’m also a mood reader, and so it’s always hard to follow through on any lists I come up with. I definitely plan on re-reading HP this summer, and I also plan on reading Daughter Of Smoke And Bone. Great list and happy reading!

    • It’s a lot of fun re-reading HP, especially when I follow up with the movies. I was happy but sad to see the last HP book come out, and possibly sadder when the last film was released — I didn’t want it to ever end. I’m really hoping to finally read Daughter of Smoke & Bone this summer. So many people adore it and its sequel, so I hope I do, too!

Leave your thoughts

