A little bit of reading…

Or at least I would like this week to involve a little bit of reading. It’s July 2nd, which means the Summer Lovin’ Read-A-Thon officially kicked off yesterday. I found myself on the busy side of things, so I accomplished little reading. Today, I hope, will not be a repeat of yesterday! Either way, I took a trip downtown for a scheduled library raid to pick up several books. Although most of the books I plan to read are from the library, I won’t make an official Library Loot post. I don’t have an exact “reading schedule,” either, but here is what’s set for Summer Lovin’ week!

reading 1

CURRENTLY READING:

I thought I would have finished Neftzger’s book by now, and I easily could have. I enjoy her writing and the story immensely, told in fairy tale-like fashion, and the book proves highly readable. What stands between me and finishing The Orphanage of Miracles are other books! You might say I started Summer Lovin’s Read-A-Thon a few days early, as I took the weekend to read up through the third book in Tamora Pierce’s Song of the Lioness series. (What can I say? The series is addicting. Thank you, Tamora Pierce.)

As you can see, I also started Battle Royale. This is for Underrated Bookers, a group run by Rebecca (thebooker) on Goodreads. From the Underrated Book Project, books are chosen each month. For this month, the group picked books from the dystopian genre: Battle Royale, Ready Player One, and The Darkest Minds, so if you’d like to take part feel free to join the group! (You do not have to read all three books.)

Moving on to library books, now…

LL 1

I’m starting the library loot list off with leftovers. Yes: these are the very same books from two weeks ago. You can bet I’ll finish Lioness Rampant, if not this week then certainly by the following week.

LL 2

I am terribly excited to read this stack! I’ve said recently that I am itching for fantasy and steampunk, and, well… steampunk took over. My one and only worry is that I won’t enjoy these books as much as I’d like to. I can’t say I’m new to steampunk, as I do love the fashion and steampunk concepts that are used in films, but I am new to steampunk in literature. I’ve read so-so and mixed reviews for The Pearl Wars and Boneshaker–though I must say that my eagerness to read them doesn’t waver. I think the most promising out of these three might be Westerfeld’s Leviathan. His Uglies series isn’t for me, but Leviathan sure does have an appeal.

LL 3

Again: another great stack I look forward to. The Darkest Minds has sat on my to-read shelf since before its publication, and I am hoping to use Underrated Bookers as an excuse to finally read it. The sequel is due out soon enough, so I really do hope to make room for it at some point during July.

Of course, I believe I mentioned The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms and Wildwood Dancing in a Top Ten Tuesday post, which I still hope to read before summer turns into fall. I admit that I’m most antsy to start Jemisin’s book, as the summary and cover have a fancy, wondrous appeal that I have trouble denying.

LL 4

Sky Castle is a quick children’s picture book, which I discovered in the library’s catalog as I hunted down steampunk titles. Just to clarify: Sky Castle is NOT a children’s steampunk picture book, but I don’t deny the allure of one. I also have Melina Marchetta’s The Piper’s Son here, and I’m awfully excited to read it. I loved Saving Francesca, so I am eager to start the companion novel, like, right now.

Naturally, as an ATLA fanatic, I need to read The Search, where Zuko teams up with Azula to discover the truth of what happened to their mother. I weep tears of joy. Really, I do–and for a couple of reasons. The first being: Azula. She alone is one of the best villains I love to love, and I love her character all-around. (As I do Zuko. How can you not like him?) Secondly: we may finally learn the truth! ATLA’s finale slapped me across the face when the creators left this cliff hanger dangling on all of our faces.

Last up…

book 2Yes, we all know I picked up Battle Royale to read and finish, but the one book–above all other books–I am dying to read is Airman by Eoin Colfer!

Eee! What is that sound? Squeals of excitement and bliss.

Once I finish The Orphanage of Miracles and Battle Royale, which books am I picking up next? Who knows. As much as I want to read Airman, I am known for neglecting my own books so that I can plow through towers of library loot. I’m also a mood-ish reader, and I will waste a day trying to figure out which book out the many I should read.

Problem solved:

reading mug

I point out: the creepy-faced reading mug, for it has an actual face, and I refuse to drink from it.

I pooled together titles that interest me and wrote their names on paper scraps before placing them in my “reading mug.” If I ever have difficulty choosing what to read, I can blindly pick a title. Suddenly: choices becomes less problematic.

(Remember: sign-ups for the Summer Lovin’ read-a-thon are open through July 6th! Just before the 24-hour reading marathon starts.)

Happy reading!

12 thoughts on “A little bit of reading…

  1. I really enjoy Cherie Priest’s Clockwork Century series, but it is interesting how they generate a wide range of opinions. There is a short story set in this universe that was in the latest issue of Apex:

    http://www.apex-magazine.com/reluctance/

    It will give you a little taste of her writing style and this universe.

    You have some fun summer reading picked out there!

    • Thanks for the link! I read the story last night and enjoyed the setting and especially her writing style. (In particular, I love it when authors drop character info throughout a story in casual manner. Cherie Priest did it wonderfully.) If her Clockwork Century series is similar to Reluctance, I’m sure I’ll be fine with Boneshaker.

      It seems like steampunk in general is a hit or miss for people, though it seems more accepted when steampunk concepts are used in animation and film.

  2. You have ATLAB: The Search!! I’ve heard that we get to know more about Ursa in this one. I kind of heard some spoiler news which was interesting. I hope you enjoy AirMan by Eoin Colfer :). I have yet to finish the Artemis Fowl series, which I do want to do at some point. You know out of all The Piper’s Son covers, my favourite still is the Australian one. There’s something about it that’s just so captivating and seems to make sense. Happy Reading Raya!

    • Have you read The Promise yet? I think I remember you’d purchased the first volume a while back. The Promise is okay — I wasn’t happy about some of the romantic developments that were being hinted at, but I’m excited for The Search. ATLA creators have kept us in the dark for years about Ursa’s mysterious disappearance, so I hope they finally reveal the truth.

      • No I haven’t read it yet! It’s sitting on my shelves, but I still haven’t gotten around to it. I heard that some of the character behaviour was very ooc.I’ve kind of spoiled it for myself, but I’m not really sure if I like the direction where they’ve taken the whole Ursa backstory, but let me know what your thoughts are on it :).

        I think the Korra soundtrack comes out this month. I’m excited to see what it’s going to be like. I really liked the soundtrack of Korra and Avatar.

  3. I love your reading mug book picking idea. I’ve been wondering how I’m going to choose between books, I might have to steal this idea from you… And that mug is super creepy. I wouldn’t want it looking at me.

    • I make sure to keep the face part of it turned away from me at all times, ha ha. And feel free to snag the idea! I saw a post on Tumblr floating around a couple weeks ago where someone was doing the same thing. I can’t find the post now, but it’s a brilliant idea.

  4. A read mug. How quirky! Although you are right, that face is quite scary. Airman is a book I borrowed from my friend, years ago *don’t tell him, I still have it*.. So at some point I’ll give it back I’m sure! But I will try and read it first. This is a fabulous list and I hope you enjoy and get as many of these read in the read-a-thon as possible Raya! :)

    • I’ve tried handing the mug off to other people, but no one wants it, and it doesn’t feel right throwing it away. Maybe I should just keep it in a dark corner of a cupboard.

      Ha, my lips are sealed. I skimmed parts of Airman when I first got it, and it sounds fantastic. I’m definitely looking forward to reading it soon!

      • Yes, that might work!

        Well I’ll look forward to your final thoughts on that one then! :)

    • I saw all these read-a-thon events over the last couple of months, but I had classes to worry about and reading is difficult when you’re bogged down with textbooks and exam dates. I’m glad I found one where I can actually participate!

Leave your thoughts

