The Dusty Bookshelf Challenge

Most of every year is routine, for each autumn, winter, and spring is much the same: class, assignment, work, class, assignment, work, read, read, read, drown in textbook, scream. Study for exams. Stab exams with pencils. Read, read, read. …Drown in textbook. Stab textbook. Hit textbook. Kill textbook. Scream. Battle-cry. Victory-yell. I’m not a violent person, and books are my most valued items, but hobby-reading doesn’t reside on the same level as school-reading. Believe me when I say I wouldn’t feel the smallest drop of rage or regret if one my textbooks was ripped apart. I’d revel in the highest merriment. Who cares if they cost hundreds of dollars? As any student knows, unless you enjoy studying, to constantly absorb yourself in a textbook for exams becomes taxing. It’s wearing, and it’s dull–especially if the content is dull. While school-reading drives me batty, hobby-reading balances my crazy with just enough sanity.  Where I run in to  trouble is when school and other matters seep into the untainted parts of my life. Downtime gets slaughtered, coping mechanisms poof, and chaos erupts like Godzilla on an endless rampage.

beauty & beast gaston no picturesThat’s what happened to me this spring. It was one class–one, measly class–that tossed me overboard. My tolerance for stress shrunk to an inch as my work ethic deteriorated. I am so done, I said. Done, done, done. This one class broke me, possibly for the best. When I go back to school, it will not be to finish my science pre-requisites–and yet! While medical anthropology gave me enough backbone and fury to quit doing what I don’t want to do career-wise, it almost killed my love for reading. …But not my love of books.

You see, I’m a book hoarder. I get such a thrill in purchasing and borrowing books a little more than I do reading books, so by the time summer comes and school’s exhausted me, I don’t read. Scratch that. I do read, but not nearly as much as I would like. What’s worse are my bookshelves, or more specifically, what is on my bookshelves. Unread books upon unread books, and the collection only aggregates.

Right before the New Year, I vowed to several bookish resolutions–challenging myself. I immediately broke my promise not to buy books unless I intended to read them shortly after buying them. (I mean, it is kind of difficult to read all 16+ books purchased in one month, and then the 20+ books brought home from the library…) This only adds to my owned-but-unread books problem. If anyone recalls, I also challenged myself to read at least five books that I own, and not to involve myself in more than three reading challenges. I’ve kept good on the latter, but I’ve managed to read two books from my personal collection–excluding purchases I instantly read.

I hope to change this. Really. Enter the Dusty Bookshelf 2013 Challenge. This challenge is for anyone who has let books sit on his or her shelves for too long, or even to tackle unowned books that have found a long-term residence on a to-read list.  If you’re interested, sign up by joining the Goodreads group or by commenting on this post–don’t forget to link your own blog post, however, that includes the Dusty Bookshelf badge with a list of books you’d like to read! In all, there are four levels to choose from:

  • Pixie Dust: 0-5 books
  • Dust Bunny: 5-10 books
  • Cobwebs: 10-15 books
  • Grungy: 20+ books

Because it’s late in the year and I do have a number of books-for-review I need to clear, I am aiming for the Pixie Dust level. A list of books I want to read can be found here, as it’s also where I will keep track of my progress. (Although my goal is to read between zero to five books, I listed ten for variety’s sake.)

Happy reading, everyone! I hope your TBR piles are tamer than mine.

the dusy bookshelf

13 thoughts on “The Dusty Bookshelf Challenge

  1. Unfortunately I’m at the ‘grungy’ level right now, but I will not be reading that fast… More’s the pity. Having unread books on my shelf is weirdly stressful! I need to stop buying more for a year or so I guess, but like you it’s my chosen form of retail therapy (way more awesome than clothes shopping!) and working in a bookshop does not help!

  2. I can’t read for fun during school either. In fact that’s where most of MY books came from on my dusty shelf – books I bought while in college. And I still haven’t read them. :)

    I just looked at your book challenge tumblr. O.o it is awesome!! How did you do that? And you have so many good books on your list!! I vote for Life of Pi and The Maze Runner.

    Thanks for signing up! Good luck on your challenge!

    • I installed one of the page themes from here (: It was a bit time-consuming, figuring out how to add the books to the proper tabs and edit the theme to fit the challenge. The creator didn’t provide too many helpful tips for it, but I worked it out!

      Yes, The Maze Runner! I want to read it before the movie comes out.

Leave your thoughts

