Library Loot # 13

  • Library LootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post — feel free to steal the button — and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.

It took a few minutes of self-lecturing/scolding to cancel some of the items that came in, and it took even longer not to request more books than what I’m currently waiting on. There was no chance of getting through the original 10+ items when I have yet to finish my two library books from last week. (Then again: I’m not feeling you, Contemporary.) In any case, I’m determined as well as excited to read the books I picked up, especially these first four…

LL 1

I have seen people’s jaw snap open and hang from shock when I say, I’ve never read a Tamora Pierce novel! Her work has been recommended to me before, but I never knew where to start — Tamora has so many books and series that it’s almost intimidating. Someone suggested I begin with the Song of the Lioness series, so that’s what I intend to do. I’ve been warned that the world-building is not as good as her later books, so I don’t expect to be mind-blown. At the same time, I’m sure the series is wonderfully entertaining and I hope to enjoy it!

LL 2

I did not expect The Rithmatist to become available so suddenly. My own copy of The Emperor’s Soul recently arrived, and I had planned on reading it first. To be honest, I don’t think I’ll get around to reading The Rithmatist before the due date creeps up anyway, as I already have a full ARC schedule–and, well… 378 pages feels more intimidating once the book shows up in all of its mighty weight and page-thickness.

LL 3

More books and their large page-counts! I’m not sure I will read Icons, because although I do want to read it and like the summary, I’m not in the proper reading mood for a YA dystopian. Firelight, however, still has my interest, and I admit to requesting it last-minute–it was too tempting not to! I learned of it recently through Carrie’s five-star review, and that coupled with Seraphina-like similarities* makes for an enticing book.

*Okay, so the only Firelight/Seraphina similarities I gather are
1. Dragons
2. Half-dragons
3. Complicated romance
4. Female protagonist

and

5. It’s fantasy

They’re not exactly twins, but can you blame my excitement given the overall quality of Rachel Hartman’s book? At this point, I will squeal at the mere mention of dragons.

11 thoughts on “Library Loot # 13

  1. Lol how do you read so much? I had to renew my library books because I hadn’t even gotten through all of them the first time around. Is The Rithmatist a new release? I feel like I’ve seen that one before. I hope you enjoy The Song of the Lioness series! I’ll ask my friend if she enjoyed that one or not. Enjoy all your books Raya!

    • Quick reading pace and sleepless nights? Ha ha, I think I hoard more books than I can read, though. I’m trying to finish Openly Straight, and I’m probably going to return Eleanor & Park. I’m just not in the right mood for it. But I’m excited to start Song of the Lioness! I just have to read through The Universe versus Alex Woods first. The Rithmatist came out last month, so it’s still quite new. I wish I had time for it, but I don’t think I will.

      I replied to your letter, by the way! I sent it off yesterday (:

      • Ahaha I haven’t stayed up in a long time to finish a book. I think I stayed up to finish King of Thorns, but I did go to sleep eventually. I’ve heard that Eleanor & Park is kind of a darker YA book. Like it deals with tough issues I think? How are you enjoying The Universe versus Alex Woods?

        Yay for your letter :). I’m looking forward to reading it! I love getting snail mail lol. So are you done school now? Or do you have a few more days to go?

      • The last book I stayed up for was Siege & Storm, and before that it was Saving Francesca. If it’s a really good and addictive book, I have issues sitting it down. I’ve heard the same about E&P, too. I would really like to read it, but I’m afraid my reading mood will ruin the experience for me.

        The Universe versus Alex Woods is good (: It’s the kind of book most people might have to be in the mood for, I think — it’s a bit slow-moving but steadily paced, as the MC spends time reflecting on events that lead up to a particular incident. It’s a bit like a memoir almost. The writing is strong and I love the characters, but I wish Alex interacted with people more often. I get fidgety, because the bulk of the writing consists of Alex narrating or explaining things to the reader. It become interesting when other people enter the story and interact with Alex.

        I finished with classes on the 12th, so I’m out now (: I’m so relieved! But a little antsy, because I still need to sign up for fall classes, and those fill up quickly.

    • I always highly recommend Seraphina. The thought alone that went into the world-building is impressive, not to mention the strong writing and wonderful characters. I hope it’s a book you enjoy. (:

    • I hate letting go of books if I haven’t read them before their due dates. I can always re-check them out, but there’s some attachment that makes it difficult.

  2. I have luckily been slack on my library requests because I have soooo many ARCs to read. However like you, I have never read a Tamora Pierce book so I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on that one because she’s been recommended to be – although I’ll admit to never having heard of her until very recently. *hides in shame*
    Still, Firelight and Icons are on my wishlist too. And I have Elantris by Sanderson that I want to read. So looks like some fabulous books here! Happy reading.

    • I was doing well in regards to making little library requests for a while, and then it exploded. I was eager for classes to let out and too frustrated with schoolwork I wasn’t enjoying. And then: booksbooksbooks!

      Ha ha, don’t feel bad. I don’t think I’d heard of Tamora Pierce until this last summer? Of course I’ve never dared to admit that until now.

      • Oh well. We shall keep it a secret between us! haha. Yes, booksbooksbooks.

        On the day of my last exam, first thing I did after was take a trip to the library! haha.

Leave your thoughts